Flickr site up

July 28, 2008

Please note the Flickr link in the sidebar, assorted photos of the 4th Americas Cup and 17th Caribbean Cup Darts tournaments will be posted there for viewing and download.

Americas Cup results

July 27, 2008

Play began as scheduled at 3:00pm on Friday 25th July and continued on to 8pm. On the 26th play began at 10am sharp, and ended around 7pm. Then on Sunday 27th July, the team and individual quarter/semi and finals were held. The competition was fast and fierce throughout, and most countries utilized the skills of their top players. The tension was mentally and physically exhausting, and most games were so close one could not predict the outcome. The compact nature of the tournament taxed the organizers to their limits, but they competently managed to make it appear to the observer, as if every detail was going exactly to plan.

Despite several impressive individual wins, Cayman was denied a place in the top three for the team event. The placings as follows were:

United States of America – 1st

Canada – 2nd

Jamaica and Bahamas – Tied 3rd

Individual Winners were:

Kim Whaley-Hilts [Canada] – 1st Ladys

Maureen Sheppard [Barbados captain] – 2nd Ladys

Gary Mawson [USA] – 1st Mens

Gerry Hull [Canada] – 2nd Mens

Americas Cup Opening

July 25, 2008

1:00pm today saw the opening of the 4th World Dart Federation [WDA] Americas Cup. The 11 competing teams are the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, brazil, Canada, the Cayman Islands, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States of America [Puerto Rico did not manage to attend the competition.]

The Cayman competitors selected for the WDF Americas Cup, proudly display the Cayman Islands Flag on stage during the opening ceremony. [from left: Tony Archibold, Arthur Ebanks, Hank Ebanks, Edsel Hayloc, Michelle Cullen, Miriam Rodriquez, Earl Smith, Philip Parsons, and Michelle Terry.]

The auditorium was packed with competitors and spectators, who warmly welcomed each team as they took the stage for their introductions.

Alan hall [Treasurer of the CDO] and Trevor Lloyd [President of the Caribbean Darts Organization] enjoy many of the humorous remarks that were made during the opening speeches. Seated near to them are Malcom Spicer, President of the WDF Americas region, and Roger Christopher, President of the Trinidad & Tobago Darts Assoc.

Americas Cup today

July 25, 2008

Bright and early today, the team assembled in the lobby to discuss our strategy for the Americas Cup which will take place over the next three days.

Many of the teams from the other participating countries are staying in the Cascadia Hotel also, so we were able to spend several hours catching-up with old friends, every one was very happy to see us… Well, almost everyone…


Heading to Trinidad

July 24, 2008

Today the Cayman Islands National Darts team began their journey to Trinidad & Tobago to take part in the Caribbean and Americas Cup tournaments. Cayman Airways ferried us to Miami with their usual aplomb, and the only small hiccup came when American Airlines was a little late coming to pick us up for our jaunt down to port of Spain. We had a few extra hours to kill, so the team improvised ways to pass the time…

It was late in the evening when we finally arrived in Trinidad, and many of our crew were tired and dehydrated from the long hours of travelling. The staff of the Cascadia Hotel, where the tournaments are hosted, must have anticipated our dilema, so they sent a driver ahead with a warm welcome and a car load of ice cold refreshments courtesy of the main sponsor Heineken…

National team thanks our sponsors

July 14, 2008

Back row [left to right] – Cassius Anglin, Philip Parsons, Tony Archibold, Arthur Ebanks, Neville Parker, Hank Ebanks, & Paul Anglin. Middle – Cliff Weeks, Rodan Asuncion, Earl Smith Ricky Bodden & Edsel Haylock. Front – Michelle Terry, Miriam Rodriguez, Michelle Cullen & Irma Smith [missing from photo is Roxanne Lebron]

The Cayman Islands Darts National Team will be travelling to Trinidad and Tobago to participate in the 2008 Caribbean Championships and the America Cup. The tournament will host 16 different countries including the USA and Canada. It will commence on the 24th July 2008 through the 4th August 2008.

On Behalf of the Cayman Islands Darts Association I would like to take this opportunity to thank and acknowledge the following people whose generosity has made this possible:


Avis Rent A Car

Bobby Bodden

Caledonian Bank

Cayman Distributors ( Guinness )

Cayman Economy Cars

Cayman Islands Customs Brokers

Cayman Net News

Cayman Water Company

Chris Johnson and Associates

Commodity Marketing & Supply Ltd.

Construction Equipment Services Ltd.

Corner Pocket Ltd.

Creative Tech Ltd.

Crighton Properties Ltd.

Da Vinci Tiling

Ernst & Young

Funky Tangs Ltd.

Gay Isle Enterprises

GT Motors [GT Automotive]

Harvey’s Construction Ltd.

Havana House Cigars

Hurlstone Construction Ltd.

Island Companies Ltd.

Lacovia Condos

LRP Ltd.

Orchid Development

Paul Bodden

Peter Young

Roper’s Enterprises Ltd.

Seaboard Marine

Security Center Ltd.

Sky Services

Stuarts Walker Hersant (Attorneys at Law)

Tortuga Rum Co. Ltd.


Wendel Construction Ltd.

Zulu Distributors

I would also like to acknowledge the Cayman Islands Government and our anonymous sponsors for the important role they have played in making this possible:

The Minster of sports Mr. Alden McLaughlin and his Ministry.

The Minster of Tourism Mr. Charles Clifford and his Ministry.

Mr. Osborne Bodden, MLA.

Mr. Alfonso Wright, MLA.


Arthur Ebanks

President (C.I.D.A.)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.